Red Light and Speed Cameras

To my surprise I received a violation in the mail recently indicating I was speeding on a busy Queens thoroughfare ( 15 mph over posted limit)... Cannot remember if there were any warning signs posted.. Time and date stamped..
The issue.. my s/o opened the mail.. I had no business being where I was, when I was... ( a mongering trip)
Escaped with some fast talking...

Being a LI resident- be aware of a growing number of cameras and speed restrictions in NYC and outer boros

I agree with you @trader1 early May I received a ticket on the mail for Driving on the bus lane on NYC 14th St East bound right before Unions Square. Crazy thing is that I’ve been driving on NYC for 10+ yrs and I’m very familiar with the area, it must be a recent change only trucks and Buses are allowed to drive through Union Square on 14th Street, or else you will get a ticket on the mail like me. I live on the island and I’ve know of some red light cameras and speed traps that have been taken down because people feel it’s not fair and in some form fee like they’re been targeted depending on the town.

NYC red light camera are $50 bucks with no hidden corruption fees. Long Island cameras are $50 also but throw on all these ridiculous made up fees which equal to $150 plus a surcharge fee for paying online.

we are one of the last places in the entire country that still have these programs. They have been thrown out as unconstitutional in many parts of it. I once went to court to see if you can fight it and over 90% of the traffic court was for red light cameras. The other 10% seemed to be driving while using a cellphone to a cut a deal to either put a device in a car or to get points on license.

If you go for the red light camera they will only knock off a late fee if it is late otherwise there is no negotiating it.