Quintessential New York Restaurant

Walk two blocks away from Nathans and get back to me.

I drove my pal EW home one night about two years ago. On nights when there is no game and nothing going on.... there is no police.

And while we're on the south brooklyn shore...

Roll-n-Roaster

And a few blocks from Bamonte's is Crissi's. Next to Parkside in Queens maybe the best Italian in the outer boro's

Actually, the last time I was there late, there was no game, and I had some time to kill before going to the late-night thing I was in Coney Island to go to. I walked all around the neighborhood around Nathan's. I tell you, it was fine.

What about Dojo's? An old East Village favorite for thrifty people. It's currently closed by the BOH now but the west one is still open. I worked as a hostess there many moons ago and got to seat Joey Ramone.

RuffToy said:
Em, you just reminded me of a place down around 1st and St Marks, think it was called Kiev. Not sure it's still around anymore.
Odessa's is still there on Ave A and so is Sidewalk. I remember Kiev but I am not sure it's still there.

I am sure Joey did not give me a second look but he was really nice and didn't care that he had not leg room since it was a really busy night.

slinkybender said:

Windows on the World/Rainbow Room.
Of all the suggestions, these make the most sense to me so far. (Not that my opinion counts for anything around here, but...)

The hot dog and burger places -- I don't know. A joint's a joint, whether you're in Chicago, LA, Hong Kong, London or New York. Grease on the wall is grease on the wall. What's so quintessentially New York about that?

As for Carmines: it's a mediocre chain restaurant. Is that the best this city can do these days?!?

RuffToy said:
The operative word is quintessential. Carmine's uptown is quintessential.