Reviews and disappointment

Such a literary group

Wow. Men of letters. Stately, plump Buck Mulligan ascended the stairhead...

I am a writer, i.e., I have made what passes for a living at the writing trade for several years now. This and $2.06 has been known to get me a cup of coffee. And I have usually not been able to rely on my income as a writer to provide me with the $2.06... Before flame wars commence, note the lack of modifier; I did not claim to be a good writer.

I struggle with the issue of writing reviews. I have written a fair number under various aliases--never came up with a handle witty enough to commit to--and I've never been really satisfied. Maybe it's a trap I'm creating for myself.

In most writing, you need to know your audience. For the most part--and this board appears to be a refreshing exception--hobbyists want names, ranks, serial (phone) numbers, accurate pics and BBBJs (maybe oh maybe TC...) Not necessarily in that order. And not a lot else.

It is, I would say, a fact-driven set of needs.

Please don't take offense humble narrator, but I can't follow your excerpt. I'm lost. It's literate and literary, but what would my experience with this natalie be? Would there be any commas? Is she putting on a dramatic amount of weight in a short period of time?

That's why I opt for a fact-driven approach. But then, I'm torn. I don't like giving away too many details. Maybe I'm saving it for my great american novel. Part of me likes to keep a few things private. What if I post something intimate that makes it clear which John is me? What if the provider reads it? What if, and I know some will laugh at me for this, but what if she doesn't do BBBJTC and a bag of chips for everyone? Will I have created an expectation on the part of others that she won't want to fulfill? Will that lead to further trouble? Will I ever get it again, or will I be cut off for having been a blabbermouth...