Provider Question: What is Helpful To You When You Have Been Raped?

justme

homo economicus
I'm not a providor, and I've never been raped, however I do have more experience in these matters than I'd like. The following is just my opinion and based on my observations. There is no magic formula for dealing with this tremendous trauma. The principle thing that your friend needs to keep in mind is patience - unbelievable, staggering, admirable patience. Victems of rape tend to walk an emotional tightrope for a long (years... decades) time after the episode. More than likely she will be very hard to interract with for quite some time and he will have to maintain the patience to roll with whatever punches that come their way. It's very important that he not think in terms of a 'healing time' after which everything will 'go back to normal'. While his wife will gradually become more stable, she will always be affected by the event. This will no doubt be a tremendous strain on him, but it's important that if he does loose his patience, that he not release on her. As a friend, the best thing that you can probably do is provide him with an outlet for his frusterations so that he can return to his wife with newfound patience.

first you hunt down the fuck and do what a friend and i did to someone who raped his GF at the time....

well i can't exactly say what i did on a public board but you can imagine.

he's still alive btw. so we did take it easy on him.....

well maybe not.

justme

homo economicus
Actually, pursuing this kind of action normally adds even more stress to the victim as now she has to deal with concern for her loved ones. Vigilante revenge is usually less about restoring the security of the victim and more about restoring the self image of the vigilante as a protector. Admittedly, it would probably take more self control than I have to let reason rule in the event that I knew how to find the assailent of a loved one.