Mobile Devices

Since the iPhone thread became about more than iPhones I thought I would start this thread so that people looking for info might find it easier.

AT&T Tilt aka HTC TyTN II

I had been using an AT&T 8525 [HTC TyTN] for about 14 months and very recently decided to upgrade to the Tilt.

The device sports a dual corp QualComm 7200 processor operating at 400mhz, Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE; tri-band UMTS/HSDPA 3.6 Mbps, moves data via Edge, UMTS and HSDPA [where available], a GPS receiver, 256MB ROM; 128MB SDRAM of memory and supports up to 32 Gig Micro SD cards. It also has a 3Mpix camera. A 240x320 QVGA screen at 64K colors. It is 4.4 x 2.3 x 0.7 inches in size and weighs in at about 6 oz.

Here is what it looks like open with the screen not set tilted up:

In tilt mode:

The fact that the screen, when opened, can be tilted to 40 degrees so that its face is pointed up at you when the other part of the unit, with its keyboard exposed, is level is how it got its name. It allows the unit to function on a desk top for multi-media as well as making some typing chores easier for many folks.

I've put the unit through its paces and found that, over all, it handles data a bit faster than the TyTN [AT&T 8525], which it replaces.

It's GPS receiver worked well. I picked up 8 satellites in short order using Google Maps and it pin pointed me to within about 1/4 mile of my location.

Using Windows Live Search Mobile put me almost spot on to my location. If it was off at all I couldn't tell.

With the use of either of these free services you can get turn by turn directions. Live search will use the speaker of the unit to give you voice prompts before turns as well.