QQ early, double up or go home?

Live $300 buy-in tourney with about 40 players. I'm new to the game. The competition seems very good, but I haven't got any real reads on anyone yet.

10 handed table, third hand of the tourney... everyone has about 2500 chips, blinds are 25/50. There's one early position limper (EP)... I get two red Queens in middle position and raise it up to 250. Everyone folds except EP calls for 200 more.

Flop is all undercards: 2 9 T two hearts.

EP checks, I bet 500. EP calls.

Turn is a 5 (no flush).

EP checks. I know that if I check, EP could bet and take down the pot with a worse hand. I think he's got a good flush draw, maybe a pair with a good kicker, or maybe a smaller pair than me. I bet 700. EP calls.

River is 4 (no flush).

EP checks. I think he's missed his flush or straight or he went too far with top pair top kicker. I push the rest of the way in (he has me slightly covered). He calls me with 22 and beats me with a set of deuces.

Is this just one of those hands where you're going broke... what should I have done differently?

My strategy going in, because of the competition, was trying to accumulate chips early.... sort of a double up early or go home mentality, so as not to be an 'intimidated short stack' against good players.

(1) what do you think of my play? what should I have done differently, if anything?

(2) what do you think of my 'double up or go home' strategy against opponents that are likely better than I?

Waterclone

Go ahead. Try me.
I would have done a few things differently.

1. 5x pre-flop is a pretty big bet. I prefer a standard 3 or 4x bet. Go for small pot poker. It makes it easier to get away from one pair like this.